3.11.17

3.11.17
Hope Town is an extraordinary place. These people are SO kind and sweet, it feels like a big family! I literally can’t go into town without people stopping me to talk and ask about my day. Everyone wants to know how I’m doing or if I need anything. 😉

The other day on my bike ride home I stopped to ask someone about the post office hours. They responded and generously offered to mail my postcards for me. Just about everyone in town knows I leave on the morning ferry and don’t return until mid-evening. I was so shocked by the thoughtfulness that I stuttered out a “Oh wow!”.

I truly feel as if I’m living in Mayberry… This place is no joke.

I lost power this morning for about 30 minutes, no reason in particular, as the locals say “that’s the Bahamas for yah”. It’s been a wonderful week working with students at ECC.
Everyday I get the opportunity to teach music and inspire hope.
These kids are so desperate for love and attention, and what’s so beautiful is being able to love them with such a pure love. The kind that will seep deep into those wounds that no one knows about. The kind that will make an imprint upon their hearts and leave a longing for real life- a longing for Jesus. Watching their faces light up as they begin to grasp their potential as a musician, or seeing their reaction to my praising. They’re so hungry for affirmation.
The other day I was working with a student and we were discussing the power that music can have over people. I brought up the idea that music loses its ability to connect with others when we don’t mean the words we’re singing. I encouraged her to feel the words and relate it to something she’s going through, to resolve to be hopeful in her situation. She nodded and began to sing again. This time she closed her eyes and the most beautiful sound emerged. Her eyes snapped open and immediately flooded with tears as she realized how much she truly needed to hear those words of hope. She continued to sing over her seemingly hopeless situation, and when she had finished she looked at me with a smile too big for her lovely face to hold.

Music is so powerful.

It’s so precious singing God’s beauty and life over these broken children. Many of them have never embraced the idea that someone could love them, even apart from their learning disabilities. They truly can’t grasp their worth.

Seeing this longing has pulled at my heart, forcing me to ask myself if I’m genuine in singing these words of belonging. Do I believe I’m loved by my Heavenly Father? Do I sing from position of belonging to Christ, or from a position of striving to belong to Him? Since Christ has paid the price to reconcile me to the Father, releasing me from every form of sin that seeks to destroy my heart; doesn’t this extravagant gift entrust me with the privilege to call myself His daughter, His treasured child?

I forget all too quickly to whom I belong. To whom my heart was created to delight in. This incredible Savior we’re invited to know so intimately, passionately desires us to walk in His belonging.

I pray this is an encouragement to you.

“But you are a chosen race, a priesthood of kingly lineage, a holy nation, a people belonging specially to God, that you may make known the perfections of Him who called you out of darkness into His marvelous light.” (1 Peter 2:9)

Love you all!

Love In Christ,

Abigail

 

Leave a Reply

